July 24, 2022-a sunny day today.

We passed the one month anniversary. I still have questions. Michael, what happened out there on the trail? Were you looking for me? Did you wonder where I was? How did you feel? Shitty? Why didn’t you use your phone and call me? Your service at the national cemetery was wonderful. The Navy came and shot off their guns and played taps and folded the flag and gave it to me. The service man who handed me the flag knelt down in front of me and looked me right in the eyes and said that the United States Navy was grateful for your service. My tears continued to fall through out the service. Your brother talked and didn’t say much. Rodney got up and talked about what a great step father you were and that it took some balls to take on a single mom with three kids. He cried a lot through his talk but it was heartfelt. Felcher, her dad and O played and sang, Long May You Run (their rendition of the Neil Young song). I requested it. We also sang a couple verses of the Navy Hymn. Then Alison and Lesley stood up together and read a eulogy which I wrote. I will include it in the next post that I send out. Afterwards, everyone gathered at Alison’s (about a half mile away)—-lots of folks. You brother, your cousin Barbara, your cousin Jack, your cousin Patrick, the boat crew, all our families, the hashers, you brought in a crowd. You would have loved it. It was all for you, Honey. I love you.

Leave a comment